Urban Decay Full Spectrum Palette Review

I’ve had my eye on the Full Spectrum palette for a little while now, and while visiting London last week, I ended up in Urban Decay in Kings Cross Train Station. I had a about an hour to kill before my train departed, so to spend my time wisely, I browsed the palettes and all the pretty lip colours. I tried talking myself out of spending more money on makeup, but before I knew it, I was walking out £43 lighter with a purple bag in my hand.

£43 I hear you cry? Yes… on one palette. I thought the Naked palettes were expensive, but the Full Spectrum palette has 9 more shades, so somehow, I made it sound ok.

Much like the Naked Heat palette, they’ve hit the spot with the packaging. The casing is black with 3D effects, the logo is a multicoloured gem, which I am a fan of.

Colour Choice

Obviously, there are a lot of colours choose from, and this is the first palette I own that has this much colour. The palette contains 21 shades, only one of these it completely matte (Bump), the other 20 have varying amounts of shimmer. Quite a lot of these have very little shimmer, so when applied they appear matte.

Pigmentation

In all honestly, I’m a little disappointed with the pigmentation. Some colours appear really well, while others take a little more work. I was hoping Goldmine, swatched below, would be a really intense shimmer, however when I tried to create a halo effect with it, I had to use glitter primer to get half the colour payoff I wanted.

IMG_6490

(Left to right: Gossip, Calavera, Goldmine, Blindsided, Delirious & Bump)

Ease of Use

As with the other Urban Decay palettes, Full Spectrum came with a dual ended brush, which isn’t the best, but I wasn’t expecting it to be. I’ve found all the colours are different, some are really easy to blend, while others take some time. The colours are buildable, which is necessary with some shades as pigmentation isn’t the best.

Overall, I’m happy with my purchase. If I wanted to create a quick eye look, I wouldn’t reach for this palette. I will most likely use this when I have a little more time on my hands so I can put in extra effort.

Do you brave colourful eyeshadows? If so, what’s your favourite colourful palette?

signature

16 thoughts on “Urban Decay Full Spectrum Palette Review

  1. jazminheavenblog says:

    This palette looks amazing, the colour choice is perfect if you don’t have lots of brights already in your collection! That appeals to me a lot. It’s such a shame the pigmentation isn’t the best in some shades though 😦 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. iwozereblog says:

    So dangerous killing time in London 🙈
    Think I’ve said before I’m a fan of Urban Decay but I can’t bring myself to spend that much money. I’d fear not using all the colours.
    Your review has popped it back in my mind though……..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment